Schaeffler Automotive Aftermarket Germany

 
 
 
 
 
 
History

Company history

 
 

1976

The LuK owners Georg and Wilhelm Schaeffler give Dr. Ernst Kohlhage, Managing Director at LuK, the green light to found the company AS Autoteile-Service GmbH & Co (AS). Schaeffler holds 50%, Ferodo/Verto (today Valeo) 36% and Häussermann 14%, on which Ferodo/Verto has an option. The service company for the automotive aftermarket is established in Mörfelden near Frankfurt/Main on October 1st 1976.

 

1977

In January 1977, a small 8-member team kicks off operations at AS. Within the year, the number of employees doubles. The first AS Dealer Conference, in which 12 wholesale companies from Germany take part, is held in Vienna as early as December 1977. AS delivers the first set of catalogues to its customers. The distinguishing characteristic: the self-explaining part number, an absolute novelty in the industry at the time.

 

1978

- In May, the inaugural meeting of the Marketing Working Group takes place featuring also five representatives of the AS dealer companies. AS is the first supplier of clutch spare parts to introduce the pioneering clutch repair kit LuK RepSet® (including clutch disk, pressure plate and release bearing), thereby facilitating things for the workshop. AS takes over the export business from the LuK parent company.

 

1980

Siegfried Kronmüller is appointed Managing Director. He has been holding a leading position as sales director since the foundation of AS.

 

1983

The LuK Master-Service Concept is introduced, comprising services to increase the competitiveness of independent workshops.

 

1984

AS debuts its racing clutch program.

 

1985

LuK launches volume production of the dual mass flywheel for BMW.

 

1986

1986 - In a first round of negotiations with INA in June 1986, AS lays the ground for becoming the distributor of INA hydraulic valve lash adjustment components. With its Original-Part-Specialist-Retailer concept AS strengthens the position of the retail businesses. The “LuKrative Idea Book” becomes a best seller. First big advertising campaign of the LuK brand on occasion of the Soccer World Championship in Mexico. The LuK Meister-Service concept hits international markets (Austria, Denmark, Great Britain, Benelux, Hungary). More than 1,600 repair shops in Europe promote their business with the LuK brand.

 

1987

The Mörfelden premises are bursting at the seams. New headquarters are constructed in Langen (5,250 sqm storage space and 2,000 sqm office space). AS is among the first companies to use interactive video text.

 

1988

The new headquarters are officially opened with the 1st European AS Dealer Conference under the motto “Daring New Markets”. AS subsidiaries in Great Britain, the US and Mexico are established.

 

1989

AS is a sponsor of the Table Tennis World Championship taking place in Dortmund.

 

1990

The existing range of clutches is complemented by an ambitious supplementary clutch program. AS initiates the “System Workshop” project jointly with ATE. AS supports the introduction of the electronic spare parts catalogue "Teilemarkt".

 

1994

In Madrid, AS Spain is founded. The first AUTOMEISTER workshop opens – an innovative repair shop franchising concept. AS becomes a shareholder in TecDoc.

 

1995

AS implements the Product Management department to optimize its sales program. The AS Technical Hotline goes live.

Schaeffler Automotive Aftermarket Deutschland

 
 
 
 
 
 
Geschichte

Unternehmensgeschichte

 
 

1976

Der LuK Geschäftsführer Dr. Ernst Kohlhage erhält von den LuK Eignern Georg und Wilhelm Schaeffler grünes Licht für die Gründung der AS Autoteile-Service GmbH & Co. (AS). Schaeffler hält 50%, Ferodo/Verto (heute Valeo) 36%, Häussermann 14%, auf die Ferodo/Verto eine Option hat. Sitz der Servicegesellschaft für den automobilen Ersatzteilemarkt wird Mörfelden bei Frankfurt/M. ab dem 01.10.1976.

 

1977

Ein kleines Team von 8 Mitarbeitern startet im Januar 1977 die Aktivitäten bei der AS. Im Laufe des Jahres sind es bereits 16 Mitarbeiter. Schon im Dezember 1977 findet die erste AS Händlertagung in Wien statt. 12 Teilegroßhändler aus Deutschland nehmen daran teil. Die ersten Ersatzteilkataloge werden an die Kunden ausgeliefert. Herausragendes Merkmal der Kataloge sind die „sprechenden Artikel-Nummern“, ein Novum in der Branche.

 

1978

Der Arbeitskreis Marketing mit fünf Vertretern der AS Händler tagt im Mai zum ersten Mal. AS führt als Erster auf dem Kupplungs-Ersatzteilemarkt das Kupplungs-Reparaturset LuK RepSet® (Kupplungsscheibe, -druckplatte, Ausrücklager) ein, eine Erleichterung für die Werkstatt. AS übernimmt auch das Exportgeschäft der Muttergesellschaft LuK.

 

1980

Siegfried Kronmüller wird Geschäftsführer. Seit der Gründung der AS war er als Vertriebsleiter in führender Position tätig.

 

1983

Kataloge werden mit Hilfe der EDV erstellt. Das LuK Meister-Service-Konzept wird in Deutschland eingeführt. Ende 1983 haben sich bereits über 500 Werkstätten dem Konzept angeschlossen.

 

1984

AS führt ein Kupplungs-Programm für den Rallye Sport ein.

 

1985

LuK Zweimassenschwungrad Serienstart bei BMW.

 

1986

Im Juni 1986 werden die ersten Gespräche mit INA geführt, um den Vertrieb für hydraulische Ventilspielausgleichselemente zu übernehmen. Mit dem Original-Teile-Fachhändler-Konzept stärkt AS die Teilehändler. Das „LuKrative Ideenbuch“ wird zum Bestseller. Der erste große Werbeauftritt mit der Marke LuK bei der Fußball-WM in Mexiko. Das LuK Meister-Service-Konzept ist international geworden (Österreich, Dänemark, England, Benelux, Ungarn). Über 1.600 Werkstätten werben mit der Marke LuK in Europa.

 

1987

Der Standort Mörfelden platzt aus allen Nähten. In Langen wird die neue AS errichtet (5250 m² Lagerfläche und 2000 m² Bürofläche). AS ist einer der ersten BTX-Anwender (Bildschirmtext).

 

1988

Mit dem 1. europäischen AS Händlertreffen unter dem Motto „Mut macht Märkte“ wird der neue Standort in Langen offiziell eröffnet. AS Töchter in Großbritannien, USA und Mexiko werden gegründet.

 

1989

Die Tischtennis WM in Dortmund wird von AS unterstützt.

 

1990

AS Kupplungsprogramm wird durch ein umfangreiches Ergänzungs-programm erweitert. Gemeinsam mit ATE wird das Projekt „Systemwerkstatt“ gestartet. Der elektronische Ersatzteile-Katalog „Teilemarkt“ wird mit Unterstützung von AS eingeführt.

 

1993

Werner Schultz tritt in die Geschäftsleitung von AS ein. Vorsitzender ist Siegfried Kronmüller.

 

1994

AS Spanien wird in Madrid gegründet. Der erste AUTOMEISTER Betrieb wird eröffnet, ein innovatives Franchise-Konzept für Werkstätten. AS wird TecDoc Gesellschafter.

 

1995

AS führt das Produktmanagement zur Optimierung des Lieferprogramms ein. Die AS Technik-Hotline geht an das Telefonnetz.